by Christopher Harbin

This content is part of a series.

NOTE: This sermon is part 1 and 2 of a 40 part devotional series. Two sermons outlines are included in this download.


First Day - Ash Wednesday (1 of 40)
Series: Lenten Devotion
Christopher Harbin
Deuteronomy 6:4-5

‘‘Listen, Israel! Yahweh our God is the only true God! So love Yahweh your God with all your heart, soul, and strength.’’ Deuteronomy 6:4-5

Today’s text, the Shema is the emblematic summary of the commandments which the Hebrews pinned to their clothing and attached to the door posts of their homes as visible reminders of the uniqueness of Yahweh, God of Israel, and their duty to honor and serve Yahweh alone. While we honor God as the only God and the only one worthy of our worship, our lives and allegiances are still too often divided.


Second Day (2 of 40)
Series: Lenten Devotion
Christopher Harbin
Philippians 4:8

‘‘Finally, my friends, keep your minds on whatever is true, pure, right, holy, friendly, and proper. Don’t ever stop thinking about what is truly worthwhile and worthy of praise.’’ Philippians 4:8

Writing from prison, Paul addresses issues of joy, peace, and contentment, as he calls on believers to focus their attention toward the goals of the Christian experience. Our minds are to be focused on the very characteristics of Jesus Christ, the goal of our call. If we are to become Christ Jesus to the world, we are to live as Jesus himself lived. We are to become refashioned into the character of Christ Jesus.
Price:  $4.99 or 1 credit